We Should Really Try to Get Together More Often! (a brief round-up of the last ten or so months)

I know. I know. It’s been a while. It’s not that I haven’t been thinking about you. I have! Really! It’s just that life got busy and time passed and suddenly it’s May and we’re here, awkwardly trying to make conversation over lukewarm drinks.

What’s worse–it’s not that I haven’t been blogging. I just haven’t been blogging…with you.

Excuse me a moment while I wipe the remains of your gin & tonic off my face.

It’s true. Earlier this year I did a few posts for Suvudu’s 2012 Cage Match (which you can see here, here, and here). The character fights were fun to research and write, but the best part was probably the reader reactions–they really seemed to get into it. I also wrote a piece about The Hunger Games for Tor’s always fantastic sci-fi/fantasy blog. Most recently (and perhaps most exciting), I wrote a Top 10 article for TIME on graphic memoirs.

Kind of a whirlwind, but all good stuff, I really wish you’d been there to see it. No, I mean it! Stop looking at me like that.

Aaaaaanyway, where did we leave off? Right. SDCC 2011, where fun was had by all and GRRM and I became besties. After that, the summer sprinted by, as it tends to do. In September, I went on an amazing trip to Sicily, Malta, and Venice. That really deserves its own post, but who knows when I’ll get around to writing it. In the meantime, let me just show you the ridiculous gem-like Sicilian waters.

The water was so clear and blue that it looked fake–it literally made me laugh like a crazy person. The waters of insanity.

Just a few short weeks after returning from Europe, I left for the World Fantasy Convention, missing the one and only real snowfall New York City got this year. I promise you, we were all weeping into our drinks under that warm San Diego sun just thinking about it. I also teared up when Pete finally pinned Jay–I hear they had a great time at Homecoming.

Awwww.

From there, the madness of the holidays flowed right into into the crazy first months of a great new job. And. Well…here we are. ::awkward laugh that I try to cover with an even more awkward cough::



Sooooo…what’s new with you?

Leave a Reply

